Modern Makers reading list

Sunday afternoon in the middle of winter… the perfect time to sit down with a cup of tea and a good book. If you are like us, you’re always looking for some fresh quilty inspiration.

So, we asked our modern makers what quilting books are on their shelves, and here is what they recommended.

Quilting from every angle, 16 geometric designs

by Nancy Purvis (@owensolivia)

“Adore it! So beautiful! It’s the book ‘I wish I had thought of'”

 

Sunday Morning Quilts: 16 modern scrap projects

by Cheryl Arkison and Amanda Jean Nyberg

“I’m on my fifth quilt inspired by this book”

 

Quilt Lovely

by Jen Kingwell

“Brilliant reading as well as patterns, the way she talks about how she curates colour in her quilts is great”

“Love her style and eclectic mix of colours”

 

Savor Each Stitch

by Carolyn Friendlander

“Gorgeous read”

 

Modern Rainbow

by Rebecca Bryan of Bryan House Quilts

“Oh my lord, I love this book. Which isn’t surprising as I love everything rainbow. But really its because every single quilt in this book speaks to me.”

 

By the Bundle

by Emma Jean Jansen

“I bought it for the gorgeous photography as much as for the beautiful patterns”

“It’s such a gorgeous coffee table book as well as having brilliant patterns”

 

The HST book

Patchwork Essentials: The Half Square Triangle

By Jeni Baker

“Total fan girl… I don’t need a HST book but I love her designs so much! She was one of the first quilt bloggers that I have ever followed”

 

Patchwork City

Patchwork City

by Elizabeth Hartman

with special mentions for The Practical Guide to Patchwork and Modern Patchwork

“It’s been on my to-do list FOR-EV-ER. Hmm, might even make it my retreat projecr!”

 

Tula City Sampler

City Sampler – 100 Modern Quilt Blocks

by Tula Pink

“This quilt is on my bucket list for sure.”

 

Noodlehead

Handmade Style

by Anna Graham (aka noodlehead)

“A huge fan of Anna’s bags, this book has everything – clothes, bags and quilts. It is just gorgeous”

So, now you have our top ten recommendations for gorgeous modern quilty books.

We’d love to hear more suggestions. Let us know what you’ve been reading below or over on IG!

One thought on “Modern Makers reading list

Leave a Reply

