Five tips for using a sand paper board with Colby Radcliffe aka @theauthenticstitch

When I stared, shocked, into my Modern Makers swag bag at the retreat, the first thing that caught my eye was Sue Daley’s Sand Paper Board. It wasn’t because it has been on my ‘must have’ accessory list for a very long time, or because it was something that I’ve always known would make my creating much easier, but because it had my name on it. I know, I know… but when you have an unusual name, like mine, growing up, finding items with your name on it is almost impossible. So I may have let out a squeal when I saw the personalised board in our amazing swag bags.

Having a board that grips your fabric and stops it from slipping can make your creating a lot less frustrating. Here are my 5 favourite ways to use my new Sand Paper Board.

1. HALF SQUARE TRIANGLES (HST’s)

Before sewing up HST’s, I have always drawn a light line on the bias of the square as a guide. It was always a bit tricky, because as you draw the line across the bias the fabric tends to stretch, but when you use the Sand Paper Board it grips your fabric, and the bias doesn’t stretch, so it gives you an accurate line to stitch along.

FullSizeRender (1)

2. APPLIQUÉ TRACING

I recently created a mini quilt that had needle turn appliqué on it and I absolutely loved the process, so now I have this board I know that I can trace off my appliqué pieces accurately with out the fabric moving on me. This is a perfect tool for all of those that are making the Modern Makers ‘Girt by Sea’ quilt pattern.

FullSizeRender (2)

3. FUSSY CUTTING FOR EPP

Ever since I tried my hand at English Paper Piecing, I have been drawn to fussy cutting fabrics to create an entirely new design within my blocks. This board will now take my fussy cutting to a whole other level of accuracy because there is no fabric slippage.

FullSizeRender (3)

4. MINI DESIGN BOARD

This use is a very simple one but a great one. Because the surface grips your fabric I’ve been using it as a mini portable design board. It allows me to place out my EPP pieces to be able to see the full effect of the design I’ve created.

FullSizeRender (4)

5. DRAWING WITH INKTENSE PENCILS

Many of you may have seen my work that I have created with Inktense pencils. Because of the consistency of the pencil it can drag on the fabric, so using a Sand Paper Board keeps the fabric in place, and the slightly rough sand paper surface allows me to get a more solid coverage of colour, resulting in more intense saturated colour for the end product.

FullSizeRender (5)

Thanks Sue Daley!

And we asked Sue Daley if she had anything else to add to Colby’s tips and there is just one extra!
“Preparing fabric for traditional hand piecing using acrylic templates to mark your sewing line. Using the sand paper board stops your fabric from moving when you’re drawing on it.” 

Leave a Reply

